Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Very Late Walk-Off Home Runs

The Angels and Athletics stayed up well past their bedtime last night. Oakland came back from a 7-2 eighth-inning deficit to force extras, and both teams scored a run in the 15th to extend the game further. Brandon Moss finally sent everyone home in the bottom of the 19th.

This was just the eighth walk-off home run in the 19th inning or later since 1945. 

Date Batter Tm Opp Pitcher Score Inn RoB Out Play Description
1963-06-14 (2) Willie Kirkland CLE WSA Jim Coates tied 2-2 b19 --- 0 *WALK-OFF*: Home Run
1967-06-04 Andy Etchebarren BAL WSA Bob Priddy tied 5-5 b19 1-- 0 *WALK-OFF*: Home Run; Robinson Scores
1972-08-10 Joe Rudi OAK CHW Stan Bahnsen tied 3-3 b19 -2- 1 *WALK-OFF*: Home Run; Campaneris Scores
1973-05-26 Dick Allen CHW CLE Ed Farmer tied 3-3 b21 1-3 2 *WALK-OFF*: Home Run; Leon Scores; Jeter Scores
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
Generated 4/30/2013.

Date Batter Tm Opp Pitcher Score Inn ▾ RoB Out Play Description
1984-05-08 Harold Baines CHW MIL Chuck Porter tied 6-6 b25 --- 1 *WALK-OFF*: Home Run
1993-08-31 Pedro Munoz MIN CLE Jason Grimsley tied 4-4 b22 --- 0 *WALK-OFF*: Home Run (Fly Ball to Deep CF-RF)
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
Generated 4/30/2013.

Date Batter Tm Opp Pitcher Score Inn ▾ RoB Out Play Description
2000-08-01 Mike Cameron SEA BOS Jeff Fassero tied 4-4 b19 --- 0 *WALK-OFF*: Home Run (Fly Ball)
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
Generated 4/30/2013.

Date Batter Tm Opp Pitcher Score Inn ▾ RoB Out Play Description
2013-04-29 Brandon Moss OAK LAA Barry Enright tied 8-8 b19 1-- 2 *WALK-OFF*: Home Run (Fly Ball to Deep RF Line); Lowrie Scores
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
Generated 4/30/2013.

Moss' blast was the second 19th inning game winner in Oakland A's history, as Joe Rudi also clubbed one in 1972. Before last night, the latest walk-off homer against the Angels came on August 1, 1971, when Jim Northrup of the Tigers went deep against Lloyd Allen in the bottom of the 16th.

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Who Hit the First Home Run at Each Ballpark?

I was trying to find a list of the first home runs at each of the 30 current major league ballparks. After some Googling I was surprised that there wasn't a list and decided to put one together.

Year Ballpark Hitter Team Pitcher HR Type Date
1912 Fenway Park Hugh Bradley Boston (A) Lefty Russell 3RHR 4/26/1912
1914 Wrigley Field Art Wilson (FL) Chicago Chi-Feds George Wilson 2RHR 4/23/1914
1962 Dodger Stadium Wally Post Cincinnati Johnny Podres 3RHR 4/10/1962
1966 Angel Stadium Rick Reichardt California Tommy John Solo 4/19/1966
1968 Oakland Coliseum Boog Powell Baltimore Lew Krausse Solo 4/17/1968
1973 Kauffman Stadium John Mayberry Kansas City Bill Gogolewski 2RHR 4/10/1973
1989 Rogers Centre Fred McGriff Toronto Don August 2RHR 6/5/1989
1991 U.S. Cellular Field Cecil Fielder Chicago (A) Jack McDowell 3RHR 4/18/1991
1992 Camden Yards Paul Sorrento Cleveland Bob Milacki 3RHR 4/8/1992
1994 Progressive Field Eric Anthony Seattle Dennis Martinez Solo 4/4/1994
1994 Rangers Ballpark Dave Nilsson Milwaukee Kenny Rogers Solo 4/11/1994
1995 Coors Field Rico Brogna New York (N) Bill Swift Solo 4/26/1995
1996 Turner Field Michael Tucker Atlanta Kevin Foster Solo 4/4/1997
1998 Tropicana Field Luis Gonzalez Detroit Dan Carlson 2RHR 3/31/1998
1998 Chase Field Vinny Castilla Colorado Andy Benes 2RHR 3/31/1998
1999 Safeco Field Russ Davis Seattle Woody Williams Solo 7/17/1999
2000 AT&T Park Kevin Elster Los Angeles (N) Kirk Rueter Solo 4/11/2000
2000 Comerica Park Juan Gonzalez Detroit Ryan Rupe 3RHR 4/14/2000
2000 Minute Maid Park Scott Rolen Philadelphia Octavio Dotel Solo 4/7/2000
2001 Miller Park Michael Tucker Cincinnati Jeff D'Amico 2RHR 4/6/2001
2001 PNC Park Sean Casey Cincinnati Todd Ritchie 2RHR 4/9/2001
2003 Great American Ballpark Reggie Sanders Pittsburgh Jimmy Haynes 2RHR 3/31/2003
2004 Citizens Bank Park Bobby Abreu Philadelphia Paul Wilson Solo 4/12/2004
2004 PETCO Park Marquis Grissom San Francisco Antonio Osuna Solo 4/8/2004
2006 Busch Stadium Bill Hall Milwaukee Mark Mulder 2RHR 4/10/2006
2008 Nationals Park Chipper Jones Atlanta Odalis Perez Solo 3/30/2008
2009 Citi Field Jody Gerut San Diego Mike Pelfrey Solo 4/13/2009
2009 Yankee Stadium Jorge Posada New York (A) Cliff Lee Solo 4/16/2009
2010 Target Field Jason Kubel Minnesota Scott Atchison Solo 4/12/2010
2012 Marlins Park J.D. Martinez Houston Edward Mujica 2RHR 4/13/2012

That's a pretty good list of hitters. In only 12 of the 30 parks was the first dinger struck by a player on the home team. Also, how crazy is it that The Jake is the tenth-oldest park in the majors and that the home parks of both the D-Backs and Rays are in the older half of MLB stadia?

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

The Miami Heat and How 65-Win Teams Did in the Playoffs

The Miami Heat are wrapping up their outstanding regular season and will be heavy favorites to repeat as NBA champions. They are already the 16th team to win 65 games in a season and with a win over Orlando tomorrow night, they will be the 13th team to reach 66 wins.

Here are the other 15 teams that won 65+ games, listed with their finish in the postseason:

Year Tm W L Finish
1967 PHI 68 13 Won NBA Finals
1971 MIL 66 16 Won NBA Finals
1972 LAL 69 13 Won NBA Finals
1973 BOS 68 14 Lost Eastern Finals
1983 PHI 65 17 Won NBA Finals
1986 BOS 67 15 Won NBA Finals
1987 LAL 65 17 Won NBA Finals
1992 CHI 67 15 Won NBA Finals
1996 CHI 72 10 Won NBA Finals
1997 CHI 69 13 Won NBA Finals
2000 LAL 67 15 Won NBA Finals
2007 DAL 67 15 Lost First Round
2008 BOS 66 16 Won NBA Finals
2009 LAL 65 17 Won NBA Finals
Lost Eastern Finals
Won NBA Finals

Included among the 15 are a dozen of the NBA's greatest champions. The 1996 and 1997 Bulls are first and tied for second on this list, respectively. It's worth noting that the Sonics and Jazz teams they beat in the Finals both won 64 games and missed this list by one win. Talk about earning your titles.

Three of these 65-win teams fell short of the championship.

The 1973 Celtics lost to the third-seeded 57-win Knicks in the Eastern Conference Finals 4-3.

2007 brought one of the greatest upsets in NBA history. The Mavericks were stunned by the 42-40 eighth-seeded Warriors in the first round 4-2.

We expected a Kobe-LeBron Final in 2009 after both the Lakers and Cavs cracked 65+ wins. It was the first season in which two teams reached that mark, but the 59-win third-seeded Magic upended Cleveland in the Eastern Finals 4-2.