Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Who Hit the First Home Run at Each Ballpark?

I was trying to find a list of the first home runs at each of the 30 current major league ballparks. After some Googling I was surprised that there wasn't a list and decided to put one together.

Year Ballpark Hitter Team Pitcher HR Type Date
1912 Fenway Park Hugh Bradley Boston (A) Lefty Russell 3RHR 4/26/1912
1914 Wrigley Field Art Wilson (FL) Chicago Chi-Feds George Wilson 2RHR 4/23/1914
1962 Dodger Stadium Wally Post Cincinnati Johnny Podres 3RHR 4/10/1962
1966 Angel Stadium Rick Reichardt California Tommy John Solo 4/19/1966
1968 Oakland Coliseum Boog Powell Baltimore Lew Krausse Solo 4/17/1968
1973 Kauffman Stadium John Mayberry Kansas City Bill Gogolewski 2RHR 4/10/1973
1989 Rogers Centre Fred McGriff Toronto Don August 2RHR 6/5/1989
1991 U.S. Cellular Field Cecil Fielder Chicago (A) Jack McDowell 3RHR 4/18/1991
1992 Camden Yards Paul Sorrento Cleveland Bob Milacki 3RHR 4/8/1992
1994 Progressive Field Eric Anthony Seattle Dennis Martinez Solo 4/4/1994
1994 Rangers Ballpark Dave Nilsson Milwaukee Kenny Rogers Solo 4/11/1994
1995 Coors Field Rico Brogna New York (N) Bill Swift Solo 4/26/1995
1996 Turner Field Michael Tucker Atlanta Kevin Foster Solo 4/4/1997
1998 Tropicana Field Luis Gonzalez Detroit Dan Carlson 2RHR 3/31/1998
1998 Chase Field Vinny Castilla Colorado Andy Benes 2RHR 3/31/1998
1999 Safeco Field Russ Davis Seattle Woody Williams Solo 7/17/1999
2000 AT&T Park Kevin Elster Los Angeles (N) Kirk Rueter Solo 4/11/2000
2000 Comerica Park Juan Gonzalez Detroit Ryan Rupe 3RHR 4/14/2000
2000 Minute Maid Park Scott Rolen Philadelphia Octavio Dotel Solo 4/7/2000
2001 Miller Park Michael Tucker Cincinnati Jeff D'Amico 2RHR 4/6/2001
2001 PNC Park Sean Casey Cincinnati Todd Ritchie 2RHR 4/9/2001
2003 Great American Ballpark Reggie Sanders Pittsburgh Jimmy Haynes 2RHR 3/31/2003
2004 Citizens Bank Park Bobby Abreu Philadelphia Paul Wilson Solo 4/12/2004
2004 PETCO Park Marquis Grissom San Francisco Antonio Osuna Solo 4/8/2004
2006 Busch Stadium Bill Hall Milwaukee Mark Mulder 2RHR 4/10/2006
2008 Nationals Park Chipper Jones Atlanta Odalis Perez Solo 3/30/2008
2009 Citi Field Jody Gerut San Diego Mike Pelfrey Solo 4/13/2009
2009 Yankee Stadium Jorge Posada New York (A) Cliff Lee Solo 4/16/2009
2010 Target Field Jason Kubel Minnesota Scott Atchison Solo 4/12/2010
2012 Marlins Park J.D. Martinez Houston Edward Mujica 2RHR 4/13/2012

That's a pretty good list of hitters. In only 12 of the 30 parks was the first dinger struck by a player on the home team. Also, how crazy is it that The Jake is the tenth-oldest park in the majors and that the home parks of both the D-Backs and Rays are in the older half of MLB stadia?

No comments:

Post a Comment