Monday, July 14, 2014

2014 All-Star Game Lineups

Mike Matheny and John Farrell just announced their starting lineups for Tuesday's All-Star Game at Target Field:

National League

Andrew McCutchen, CF
Yasiel Puig, RF
Troy Tulowitzki, SS
Paul Goldschmidt, 1B
Giancarlo Stanton, DH
Aramis Ramirez, 3B
Chase Utley, 2B
Jonathan Lucroy, C
Carlos Gomez, LF

Adam Wainwright, SP

American League

Derek Jeter, SS
Mike Trout, LF
Robinson Cano, 2B
Miguel Cabrera, 1B
Jose Bautista, RF
Nelson Cruz, DH
Adam Jones, CF
Josh Donaldson, 3B
Salvador Perez, C

Felix Hernandez, SP

Let's go around the diamond for both squads and see who previously started an All-Star Game for that player's club at his position.

If you want to guess these guys first, play this Sporcle quiz here.

Pittsburgh Pirates ASG Starting CF

Matty Alou 1969
Andy Van Slyke 1992
Andrew McCutchen 2014

The reigning N.L. MVP will be the sixth Pirate to lead off the game. The others are Paul Waner (1937), Arky Vaughan (1940), Dick Groat (both games in 1962), Roberto Clemente (1964) and Alou (1969). The Bucs to start in left field are Ralph Kiner (1949-50), Bob Skinner (1958, both games in 1960), Willie Stargell (1965, 1971-72) and Barry Bonds (1992). Right field starters are Paul Waner (1937), Roberto Clemente (both games 1961-62, 1964, 1966-67), Dave Parker (1977, 1979-81) and Jason Bay (2006).

Los Angeles Dodgers ASG Starting RF

Dixie Walker 1944
Dixie Walker 1946
Dixie Walker 1947
Rick Monday 1978
Yasiel Puig 2014

The Dodgers have had nine starts in both of the other two outfield spots. In left: Joe Medwick (1940, 1942), Augie Galan (1944), Jackie Robinson (1954), Wally Moon (both games in 1959) and Tommy Davis (both games in 1962, 1963). In center: Pete Reiser (1941-42), Duke Snider (1954-55), Jim Wynn (1974-75), Reggie Smith (1980), Andre Ethier (2010) and Matt Kemp (2011).

Colorado Rockies ASG Starting SS

Troy Tulowitzki 2011
Troy Tulowitzki 2013
Troy Tulowitzki 2014

Tulo is in there for the third time in four years.

Arizona Diamondbacks ASG Starting 1B

Paul Goldschmidt 2014

Goldy is the sixth D-Back to draw a start, joining Matt Williams (3B, 1999), Jay Bell (2B, 1999), Randy Johnson (P, 2000), Luis Gonzalez (CF, 2001) and Curt Schilling (P, 2002). The Rays and Marlins are now the only clubs without an All-Star starter at first base.

Miami Marlins ASG Starting DH

Giancarlo Stanton 2014

Stanton's starting nod is just the fifth in franchise history. Gary Sheffield started at third base in 1993 representing the inaugural Marlins club and Hanley Ramirez started at short in three straight games from 2008-10.

Milwaukee Brewers ASG Starting 3B

Aramis Ramirez 2014

The Blue Jays, Mariners, Astros and Expos/Nationals are the remaining four franchises without a third base All-Star starter.

Philadelphia Phillies ASG Starting 2B

Emil Verban 1947
Granny Hamner 1954
Manny Trillo 1982
Mariano Duncan 1994
Chase Utley 2006
Chase Utley 2007
Chase Utley 2008
Chase Utley 2009
Chase Utley 2014

Utley becomes the 12th keystone corner man to start five All-Star Games, joining Roberto Alomar (9), Ryne Sandberg (9), Rod Carew (8), Nellie Fox (8), Joe Morgan (7), Charlie Gehringer (6), Billy Herman (6), Bill Mazeroski (6), Johnny Temple (6), Bobby Doerr (5) and Joe Gordon (5).

Milwaukee Brewers ASG Starting C

Ted Simmons 1983
Jonathan Lucroy 2014

LuCroy gets the start in lieu of the injured Yadier Molina and becomes the second Brew Crew backstop to get the nod.

Milwaukee Brewers ASG Starting LF

Ben Oglivie 1980
Jeromy Burnitz 1999
Ryan Braun 2008
Ryan Braun 2010
Ryan Braun 2012
Carlos Gomez 2014

I thought Gomez might get the start in center over Cutch. The Brewers, Marlins and Rays are the only teams that have never had a player start an All-Star Game in center field. Milwaukee has had two starters in right field (Braun 2009 and Corey Hart 2010).

St. Louis Cardinals ASG Starting P

Bill Hallahan 1933
Bill Walker 1935
Dizzy Dean 1936
Dizzy Dean 1937
Mort Cooper 1942
Mort Cooper 1943
Steve Carlton 1969
Bob Gibson 1972
Rick Wise 1973
Chris Carpenter 2005
Adam Wainwright 2014

This is the 11th time a Redbirds hurler has received the honor. Only the Yankees (19) and Dodgers (14) have had more starts on the mound in the Midsummer Classic (the Phillies and Tigers have also had 11).

New York Yankees ASG Starting SS

Phil Rizzuto 1950
Phil Rizzuto 1952
Tony Kubek 1961 (1)
Bucky Dent 1980
Bucky Dent 1981
Derek Jeter 2000
Derek Jeter 2004
Derek Jeter 2006
Derek Jeter 2007
Derek Jeter 2008
Derek Jeter 2009
Derek Jeter 2010
Derek Jeter 2012
Derek Jeter 2014

The Yankees captain makes his ninth and final start at shortstop, breaking a tie with Luis Aparicio for the third most in All-Star history (Cal Ripken 14, Ozzie Smith 11). Jeter also led off for the Junior Circuit in 2012. This will be the 11th time that a Yankee is at the top of the lineup. The others are Ben Chapman (1933), Red Rolfe (1937), Phil Rizzuto (1950), Bobby Bonds (1975), Willie Randolph (1980), Rickey Henderson (1985, 1987-88) and Curtis Granderson (2011).

Los Angeles Angels ASG Starting LF

Leon Wagner 1962 (1)
Leon Wagner 1962 (2)
Leon Wagner 1963
Don Baylor 1979
Garret Anderson 2003
Vladimir Guerrero 2006
Mike Trout 2013
Mike Trout 2014

Other Angels starting outfielders are Albie Pearson (1963 CF), Fred Lynn (1982, 1983 CF), Reggie Jackson (1982, 1984 RF) and Guerrero (2004, 2005, 2007 RF).

Seattle Mariners ASG Starting 2B

Bret Boone 2001
Robinson Cano 2014

The big-ticket free agent signing is the third Mariner to hit third for the A.L. Ken Griffey did it five times in six years (1993-94, 1997-99) and the other was Edgar Martinez in 1995.

Detroit Tigers ASG Starting 1B

Hank Greenberg 1939
Rudy York 1941
Rudy York 1942
Norm Cash 1961 (1)
Norm Cash 1961 (2)
Norm Cash 1971
Cecil Fielder 1991
Miguel Cabrera 2010
Prince Fielder 2012
Miguel Cabrera 2014

I'm a little surprised to see that only three Tigers have batted cleanup in the All-Star Game. Rocky Colavito did it in 1962's second game, Lance Parrish did in 1986 and Cecil Fielder did in 1991.

Toronto Blue Jays ASG Starting RF

Joe Carter 1992
Joe Carter 1993
Jose Bautista 2011
Jose Bautista 2012
Jose Bautista 2013
Jose Bautista 2014

Bautista starts his fourth straight All-Star Game. George Bell (1987 LF), Joe Carter (1994 LF) and Vernon Wells (2006 CF) have also represented the Jays in the outfield.

Baltimore Orioles ASG Starting DH

Nelson Cruz 2014

Baltimore Orioles ASG Starting CF

Adam Jones 2013
Adam Jones 2014

Jones starts in center field for the second straight year. It's worth noting that Chet Laabs of the St. Louis Browns started the 1943 game. Other Baltimore outfield starters are Frank Robinson (1966 LF, 1969-71 RF), Ken Singleton (1981 LF), Brady Anderson (1996 RF, 1997 LF). Browns LF Sam West started the game in 1937.

Oakland Athletics ASG Starting 3B

Jimmie Foxx 1934
Jimmie Foxx 1935
Pinky Higgins 1936
Jim Finigan 1955
Sal Bando 1969

Donaldson is the first A to start at the hot corner in 45 years. Excluding the four teams who have never had a third base starter*, only the White Sox have a longer drought than the A's did (Jimmy Dykes, 1933). The starts by Foxx and Higgins were when the team was in Philadelphia and Finigan's is from the team's stay in Kansas City.

* Blue Jays, Mariners, Astros, Expos/Nationals. The Brewers drought ends Tuesday with Aramis Ramirez starting.

Kansas City Royals ASG Starting C

Darrell Porter 1979
Salvador Perez 2014

Seattle Mariners ASG Starting P

Randy Johnson 1995

Randy Johnson 1997
Felix Hernandez 2014

No comments:

Post a Comment